_ _

Joyful Mysteries of Our Lady Suite


Mode Z Catalogue Nbr: C0002

Composer: James Medary Cooper

For: Recorder, Strings, Guitar, and Harp
Price: $12.00 (+ shipping & handling: $3.00 USA, $6.00 outside USA)

This suite was composed for the performance of selections from Medieval Plays presented under the title "Joyful Mysteries of Our Lady" at Church of the Good Shepherd, Rosemont, Pennsylvania, January 14, 1979.

The piece is scored for Alto Recorder, Guitar (classical), Harp, Viola, Cello and Contra-bass. There is also an optional B-flat Clarinet part for the fifth movement only.

The clarinet can be omitted with the viola covering on an "ossia" part. The viola and cello parts are essentially unison. Therefore it is possible to perform with one, and not both of these two instruments. If that were done when the clarinet is not present, then adjustments could be made in the fifth movement in one 12 measure section which would normally need at least 2 of those 3 instruments.

The suite consists of five movements, most of which are very brief, for the purpose of accomodating short transitions in the play. However, the fifth movement is longer and can be adjusted in length by adding or subtracting from the differing instrumental combinations which repeat the two 12 measure themes.

Total normal duration is approx. 4 1/2 minutes.

The suite is also available in two other formats:
for Guitar and two Harps
for Quartet: Flute (or Recorder), Guitar, Keyboard (or Harp), & Cello (or Viola)

  Shared Bottom Border

Mode Z Music, P.O. Box 555, Jemez Springs, NM 87025  U.S.A.

Contact me by e-mail